Firm News

Firm News

Fitch Even Sponsors National Inventors Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

May 7, 2013

Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP was proud to serve as a sponsor of the 41st Annual National Inventors Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony honoring the 2013 inductees. The induction ceremony took place on May 1, 2013, at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office in Alexandria, Virginia.

In attendance were Fitch Even partners Edward W. Gray, Jr., Past Chair of the National Inventors Hall of Fame Board of Directors, Sherri N. Blount, Kendrew H. Colton, and Nicholas T. Peters, along with Mary Kennard, Vice President and General Counsel of American University, and John G. Gloster, Jr., Senior Associate General Counsel of Howard University.

This year's 17 honorees included Arthur Ashkin, who invented optical trapping; Donald Bitzer, Robert Willson, and the late Gene Slottow, who together created the first plasma display; Joseph Lechleider, whose work led to the Digital Subscriber Line (DSL); Leonard Flom and the late Aran Safir, who conceived the iris identification system; and John Daugman, who invented iris recognition biometric algorithms. Additional honorees who were inducted posthumously included Robert Moog, who invented the revolutionary Moog synthesizer, and Samuel Alderson, who developed the crash test dummy. The complete list of 2013 honorees can be found on the Invent Now website.

The National Inventors Hall of Fame, a subsidiary of Invent Now, is a nonprofit organization established in 1973 in partnership between the National Council of Intellectual Property Law Associations and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. The Hall of Fame honors individuals holding U.S. patents whose extraordinary innovations and creations have made significant contributions to our nation’s welfare and to the advancement of science and the useful arts. The Hall of Fame currently has 487 esteemed members.

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design