Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from February 28, 2019
Navigating Open Source Risk with Tools for Usage Evaluation and License Compliance

Please join Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP for a free webinar, “Navigating Open Source Risk with Tools for Usage Evaluation and License Compliance,” on Thursday, February 28, at 9:00 am PST / 10:00 am MST / 11:00 am CST / 12 noon EST.

Software is increasingly incorporated into products released into the market, and more companies are releasing mobile applications every day. As the percentage of open source content in use rises, the legal and security risks accompanying such use needs to be actively managed. During this webinar, our presenters will provide background information and actionable advice that will assist you in handling open source.

Among other insights, our presenters will discuss the following:

  • Assessing license compliance and compatibility
  • Leveraging tools to monitor and assess risks associated with software deals and open source software incorporated into a company’s code
  • Creating programs and policies to effectively manage a company’s incorporation of open source into its code
  • External web service call-out or API identification and management of associated obligations, risks, and privacy concerns

Our guest speaker will be Philip Odence, General Manager of Black Duck On-Demand, the industry leader in open-source due diligence services. Fitch Even partners Amanda Lowerre O’Donnell, Joseph F. Marinelli, and Steven G. Parmelee will round out the panel.

Phil Odence is General Manager of Synopsys’ Black Duck On-Demand business unit, which provides due diligence audits for companies and both sides of M&A transactions. He works closely with the company’s law firm partners and the open source community and is a frequent speaker on open source management and M&A.

Amanda Lowerre O’Donnell focuses her practice primarily on patent prosecution, patent licensing, and commercial clearance assessments. She also advises clients in the U.S. and abroad on business method protections as well as open source software issues.

Joe Marinelli is an IP litigator with 20 years of hands-on courtroom experience and a diverse intellectual property law practice covering all aspects of IP creation, management, enforcement, and licensing.

Steve Parmelee has extensive experience in complex patent preparation and prosecution in the U.S. and abroad. He has assisted clients with patent portfolio management, freedom-to-operate issues, and transactions for over 40 years.

A recording of this webinar is available through February 27, 2020.  


View Webinar | Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design