Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from September 26, 2019
Effective Trade Secret Practices: What You and Your Employees Need to Know

A recording of this webinar is available through September 25, 2020.A recording of this webinar is available through September 25, 2020.ven for a free webinar, “Effective Trade Secret Practices: What You and Your Employees Need to Know,” on September 26, at 9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12 noon EDT.

With the passage of the America Invents Act and the Defend Trade Secrets Act, as well as recent case law creating uncertainty in some areas of patent law, many intellectual property owners have expressed a renewed interest in trade secret protection for innovations and information. However, very few of these IP owners have a well-developed program for identifying, classifying, and intentionally protecting these trade secrets. And even for those owners with such a program, establishing a record of training leaders and employees in trade secret protection can be important to show that the owner has engaged in “reasonable efforts” to protect its trade secrets.

During this webinar, our presenters will discuss the following:

  • Best practices for identifying and classifying trade secrets
  • Key features of a trade secret program
  • Ongoing internal education on trade secret protection needed to support a showing of “reasonable efforts” 

Our speakers will be Fitch Even attorneys Thomas F. Lebens and Donald “Bob” Bunton.

Tom has served clients in preparing and prosecuting patent and trademark applications, including appeals, post-grant review, and interferences, since 1991. He also counsels clients in IP and business strategy, licensing issues, infringement and validity analysis and opinions, and copyright matters.

Bob’s practice encompasses patent litigation, patent preparation and prosecution, IP transactions, product clearance and legal opinions, IP due diligence and competitive assessments, international IP protection, and post-issuance proceedings. He leverages his aerospace engineering and programming background to assist clients in a wide range of technical fields.

A recording of this webinar is available through September 25, 2020.

View Webinar | Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design